Villard de Lans is located at 1050 meters altitude in the heart of the Vercors mountain plateau in the French Alps, just about 30 minutes by car from the centre of Grenoble. You can reach Grenoble by the TGV from Paris, by air from the airports in Grenoble (35 minutes) Lyon (1 hour) or Geneva (1h30), or by motorways from Lyon or Geneva.

Villard de Lans and the entire Vercors area is an ideal place to spend your vacation. In the winter there are great slopes for downhill skiing, beautiful cross country skiing that stretches for 110 kms right at the edge of the largest natural reserve in France, biathlon practicing areas where you may have a chance to meet with the male and female world champions, an ice skating rink, indoor and outdoor swimming pools,… you name it. In the spring, summer and autumn you have access to fabulous hiking and you may enjoy the 18 hole golf course in Corrençon, just 10 minutes from Villard de Lans.

Villard de Lans and the Vercors area is an ideal location for your vacation at any time of the year!

 

all-ski
Click on the map to get its full-size

Winter Sports

Downhill skiing. The downhill skiing area comprises 50 slopes, 20 ski lifts and connects the skiing areas of Villard de Lans and Corrençon. There are 3 areas devoted to children: one at the bottom of the toboggan slopes at the “Colline des Bains”, one at the top of the cabin lift in Villard “Le Balcon”, and one in the village of Corrençon.

Nordic skiing. There are two connected areas for nordic (“cross country”) skiing, one in Villard de Lans and one in Corrençon that provide 125 km of  tracks for both classic and skate skiing. The tracks run through beautiful areas through woods, valleys and ridges.

Biathlon. Villard de Lans is becoming world famous in Biathlon with world champions and olympic gold medalists living and practicing in the area. The biathlon practicing area is partially open to the public with classes to both children and adults.

Skating. The skating rink is open to the public all year, with many organised evening events (ice hockey, art skating, …).

Toboggan/sledge. There are several tracks, a lift and rental of material for tobogganing at the Colline des Bain.

Pool/Spa. Public swimming pools, including a heated outdoor pool.

Summer Sports

Roller skiing. When the snow is gone a new skiing season starts. A skiing track, which extends into the biathlon practicing area, was created in 2014. Here you can practice roller skiing on tarmac and practise shooting in the biathlon area.

Mountain biking. There are numerous tracks for mountain biking in and around Villard de Lans.

Walking/trekking. The entire Vercors area is famous for everything it offers for trekking or simply walking in the mountains.

Canyoning. Several gorges around Villard de Lans provides great opportunities for the adventurous to practice canyoning.

Golf. The 18 hole golf court in Correneçon, less than 10 minutes from Villard de Lans, has an exceptional situation in the hills surrounded by mountains.

 

 

mountain-biking

 

 

drums

Festivals and Events

There are numerous festivals and other events organized around the year both in Villard de Lans and the in surrounding villages Autrans, Lans, Méaudre and Corrençon. Sports events include well-known cross-country skiing La Foulée Blanche in Autrans, the Trans’Vercors mountain bike and the Ultra Trail du Vercors.

Other festivals include the Focale photography festival, the Summer Swing music festival or the well known Coquille Saint-Jacques weekend, when all the restaurants offers special menus with scallops.

One highlight is also the Festiv’Air weekend, when the sky is filled with hot air balloons.

For the full programme, please look at the information provided by the tourist office.

 

 

Excursions and Visits

From Villard de Lans there are many interesting places to visits within a short drive. You may for example drive down the spectacular Bourne Gorges. This is not a drive for the faint at heart, but well worth it. On your way down you will reach the village Pont-en-Royans where the houses hang out over the Bourne river. A bit further down you will reach the Choranche Cave, which goes deep into the mountain side and where guided tours take you on an unforgettable walk. While at the cave, don’t miss the walk up to the nearby cascade.

The Bourne Gorges

Pont-en-Royans
The Choranche Cave
Gournier Cascade
previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
Slider

 

Menu

Villard de Lans est situé à 1050 mètres d’altitude au cœur du plateau du Vercors dans les Alpes françaises, à seulement 30 minutes en voiture du centre-ville Grenoble. Vous pouvez rejoindre Grenoble par le TGV de Paris, par avion depuis les aéroports de Grenoble (35 minutes), Lyon (1 heure) ou Genève (1h30), et par les autoroutes de Lyon, Valence et Genève.

Villard de Lans et toute la région du Vercors est un endroit idéal pour passer vos vacances. En hiver, le domaine skiable comprend 125 km de pistes de ski alpin, de belles pistes de ski de fond qui s’étendent sur 110 km en bordure de la plus grande réserve naturelle de France, un stade de biathlon où vous pourrez croiser des champions mondiaux de biathlon, une patinoire, des pistes de luge avec tapis roulant, des piscines intérieure et extérieure,… Au printemps, en été et en automne, vous avez accès à de fabuleuses randonnées et vous pourrez profiter du parcours de golf 18 trous à Corrençon, à seulement 10 minutes de Villard de Lans.

Villard de Lans et la région de Vercors est un endroit idéal pour vos vacances à tout moment de l’année!

 

all-ski
Cliquer sur l’image pour avoir les détails

Sports d’hiver

Ski alpin.
Le domaine skiable comprend 50 pistes, 20 remontées mécaniques et relie les domaines skiables de Villard de Lans et de Corrençon. Il y a 3 zones consacrées aux enfants: l’une au pied des pistes de luge de la Colline des Bains à Villard de Lans, l’une au sommet de la cabine de Villard «Le Balcon» et l’autre au village de Corrençon.

Ski de fond.
Il y a deux domaines reliés pour le ski nordique, l’un à Villard de Lans et l’autre à Corrençon, qui offrent 110 km de pistes pour le classique et le skating. Les pistes traversent de belles régions à travers des bois, des vallées et des crêtes.

Biathlon.
Villard de Lans avec Corrençon est mondialement célèbre en Biathlon avec des champions du monde et olympiques vivant et pratiquant dans la région. Le stade de biathlon est en partie ouvert au public avec des cours de différents niveaux pour enfants et adultes.

Patinage.
La patinoire est ouverte au public toute l’année, avec de nombreux événements organisés le soir (hockey sur glace, patinage artistique,…).

Luge.
A la Colline des Bain, tout près du centre du village, on trouve plusieurs pistes de luge, un tapis roulant pour monter et la location de matériel.

Piscine/Spa.
Des piscines publiques, y compris une piscine chauffée à l’extérieur.

Sports d’été

Ski-roue.
Lorsque la neige disparaît, une nouvelle saison de ski commence. Une piste de ski-roue, qui comprend aussi le stade de biathlon, a été créée en 2014. Ici, vous pouvez pratiquer le ski-roue sur tarmac et pratiquer le tir dans le stade de biathlon.

VTT.
Il existe de nombreuses pistes de VTT à tous les niveaux de difficulté dans et autour de Villard de Lans.

Marche/Randonnée.
La région entière du Vercors est célèbre pour tout ce qu’elle offre pour le trekking ou simplement pour marcher dans les montagnes.

Canyoning.
Plusieurs gorges autour de Villard de Lans offrent de grandes opportunités pour les aventuriers à la pratique du canyoning.

Golf.
Le golf 18 trous de Correneçon, à moins de 10 minutes de Villard de Lans, a une situation exceptionnelle dans les collines entourées de montagnes.

 

 

VTT dans le Vercors

 

 

drums

Festivals and Evénements

Il y a de nombreux festivals et autres événements organisés pendant toute l’année à Villard de Lans et dans les villages environnants Autrans, Lans, Méaudre et Corrençon. Les épreuves sportives comprennent la compétition de ski de fond bien connu La Foulée Blanche à Autrans, le vélo de montagne avec le Trans’Vercors et le festival Velo Vert, ainsi que le Ultra Trail du Vercors .

D’autres festivals comprennent le festival de photo Focale , le festival de musique Summer Swing et le fameux week-end Fête de Coquille Saint-Jacques où tous les restaurants offrent des menus dédiés. Pendant le week-end de FestivAir , le ciel est rempli de mongolfières.

Pour le programme complet, veuillez consulter les informations fournies par l’Office de tourisme.

 

Excursions et visites

En partant de Villard de Lans, à une courte distance en voiture (ou vélo pour les plus sportifs), on trouve de nombreux endroits très intéressants à visiter. Vous pouvez par exemple descendre les spectaculaires Gorges de la Bourne . Ce n’est pas une route à prendre pour les « faibles au cœur », mais ça vaut vraiment le coup. En descendant, vous atteindrez le village Pont-en-Royans où les maisons surplombent la rivière de la Bourne. Un peu plus bas, vous atteindrez la Grotte de Choranche , où les visites guidées vous emmèneront dans une découverte inoubliable. Quand vous êtes à la grotte, ne manquez pas la petite promenade jusqu’à la cascade à proximité.

Les Gorges de la Bourne

Pont-en-Royans
La Grotte de Choranche
Cascade de Gournier
previous arrow
next arrow
Shadow
Slider

 

Menu